Our Mission
Through compassion and dedication, we support and strengthen individuals and families in Union County.

General Information
Phone Numbers
Emergencies: Dial 911
940 London Avenue
Suite 1800

Monday - Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
President's Day - February 19, 2024
Memorial Day - May 27, 2024
Juneteenth - June 19, 2024
Independence Day - July 4, 2024
Labor Day - September 2, 2024
Columbus Day - October 14, 2024
Veteran's Day - November 11, 2024
Thanksgiving - November 28, 2024
Day After - November 29, 2024
Christmas - December 25, 2024
Day After - December 26, 2024
New Year's - January 1, 2025

Adult Services

Adult Protective Services (APS) serves Union County residents age 60 and older who may be victims of abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation.  APS does not have jurisdiction in nursing homes or assisted living facilities.

Adult Protective Services Law

Ohio established the Adult Protective Services Law (Ohio Revised Code 5101.6 - 5101.71) in 1981.  This legislation enables a Union County Department of Job and Family Services social worker to investigate reports of elder abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation and try to remedy these situations.

The core principles of the law include:

  • The adult has the right to determine how he or she lives
  • It is best to use the "least restrictive alternative" when developing solutions
  • If appropriate, family members will be involved in problem solving
  • Community based services will be provided, if possible, rather than institutionalization
  • Placing blame is not the purpose
  • Intervention is tailored to the needs of the adult and his or her family
  • Inadequate or inappropriate intervention may be worse than none at all

Who is protected?

The law applies to persons age 60 years and older who are handicapped by the infirmities of age or are mentally or physically impaired, so that they are unable to provide for their own care or protection.  Those persons must live within the community, for example a private home, trailer, shelter/homeless, or rooming house.  

Suspected abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation of persons residing in a nursing home or facility licensed by the State of Ohio are protected by separate laws and agency.  Call the Ombudsman at 1.800.536.5891 for assistance in these situations.

How to Make a Report

Reports of known or suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation can be made by calling our abuse and neglect hotline at 937.644.1010 or in person at 940 London Avenue, Suite 1800, Marysville, Ohio 43040, weekdays from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  To make an emergency report after regular business hours, on weekends or holidays, please contact the Union County Sheriff's Office at 937.644.4100 and ask for the on-call social worker.

All reports to Adult Protective Services are kept confidential.

What happens after a referral is made?

If the situation presents conditions in which someone is at risk of immediate and irreparable physical harm or death, it will be considered an "emergency" and contact will be made within 24 hours.  Contact will be initiated within three (3) days on reports determined to be "non-emergencies."  A face-to-face visit will be conducted with the alleged adult victim and an assessment will be completed to determine if the person is at risk and the need for protective services will be evaluated.

What services can be provided?

Each situation is unique.  The social worker will assist the individual to determine the least restrictive method to improve/correct the situation and also keep him or her safe.  The APS workers will coordinate services with other community agencies (home health, homemaking, home delivered meals, emergency response, representative payee, and/or guardianship services) that are appropriate to the individuals needs.  If the individual is deemed "competent" (by a medical doctor) and he or she does not wish to receive protective services, intervention cannot be made.