The Accurate Assessment - ​Property Tax Credits

The Accurate Assessment  

by the Honorable Andrea Weaver, Union County Auditor

(June 2024, 4.2)

-Property tax credits-


Ohio offers several property tax credit programs to homeowners:


  1. The Owner Occupancy Credit:
    1. Applied to properties that are the primary residence for its owner. 
    2. Requires an application which can be found via link on my page of the County’s website, ( 
    3. 2 ½% credit, applied to your calculated property tax liability.
    4. While not a large credit, every little bit helps.  You can find out if you’re receiving this credit by either checking for it on your tax bill (it will say “Owner Occupancy Credit”, or you can find it on the property search website by searching for your parcel and then clicking on the “Where Your Taxes Go” link.
    5. Also, you may apply on the conveyance fee statement, form DTE 100, when you purchase your home.  


  1. Non-Business Credit:
    1. This is a 10% tax credit applied to all non-commercial/industrial properties.
    2. No need to apply; it’s automatic


  1. Homestead Exemption:

Homestead has undergone a few changes in the past few years.  It allows for a $26,200 valuation credit for those folks who:

  1. Are 65 years of age or permanently disabled (per SSA) in the tax year for which they are applying
  2. Own AND live in their primary residence as of January 1 of the application year. 
  3. Have annual state income not exceeding $36,100 (cy 2024)

Additionally, Ohio law extends an additional benefit to those veterans who are 100% disabled as a result of their military service, regardless of their age.   The Veteran’s Homestead Exemption calculates the tax credit by exempting $50,000 of market value instead of the standard $26,200.    This additional exemption is authorized for veterans experiencing 100% service-connected disabilities.  


One common misconception is that this is something that must be re-applied for each year.   That is true, if you believe your income has changed, putting you over the maximum income requirement.  If your income hasn’t changed, then there is no need to re-apply for the Exemption – it will remain on your property – as long as you own it, and it’s your primary residence.  But this is a self-monitoring exemption, i.e. if your circumstances change, it is Ohio law that you report those changes.


If you have questions about any of these or to see if you qualify, feel free to reach out to us.



Andrea L. Weaver, MBA, AAS

Union County Auditor


 937-645-3003 * *

More: Auditors News & Articles Union County News