The Union County Board of Elections met on December 5, 2023. Those in attendance were Chairman Dean Cook; Board Members Willam Steele, Barbara Luke; Director Brandon Clay; Deputy Director Michelle Forrider; Election Specialist Renee Error; SOS Liaison Susie O'Brien and Jeff Robinson member of the public.

Chairman Cook called the meeting to order at 1:00pm.

Approve minutes from November 20th and 30th Board Meeting

Board Member Steele moved to approve the minutes with Board Member Luke seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Approve Bills

Deputy Director Forrider presented bills for approval.

- 1. TRIAD
- 2. RBM

Board Member Luke motioned to approve bills with Board Member Steele seconding the motion.

The motion passed unanimously.

2023 YTD Budget Summary

Director Forrider presented the YTD budget. There were no questions or concerns.

Approve Campaign Finance

Deputy Director Forrider presented Campaign Finance for approval.

Pre-General

- 1. Committee to Elect Joe Craft
- 2. Fairbanks Levy Committee
- 3. Friends of Steven Wolfe
- 4. William Neumeyer

Post-General

- 1. Citizens Committee for People with Developmental Disabilities
- 2. Riley for Marysville

Designation of Treasure

1. Tom McCarthy for Commissioner

Board Member Luke motioned to approve the Campaign Finance with Board Member Steele seconding.

The motion passed unanimously.

Audit Review

Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider reported that after the recount for Ward 1 Council seat we went right into the audit. Precints Marysville 5,16 and Dover 1 were counted for the audit. Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider reported that the recount/audit was 100% accurate.

Mail Absentee Outsourcing

Board Member Steele moved to approve to use Mid-West Direct for the March 19, 2024 Presidential Primary with Board Member Luke seconding.

Motion passed unanimously.

2024 Board Meeting Schedule

Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider presented to the Board with the dates for the 2024 Board Meeting Schedule. Board Member Luke motioned to accept the schedule with Board Member Steele seconded the motion.

The motion passed unanimously.

January Board Meeting/Winter Conference

Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider stated that the OAEO Winter Conference will be held January 10th – 12th in Columbus and Board Member Steele made the motion to not have a January meeting with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Holiday schedule

Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider began the discussion regarding holiday time off. They stated that the county Holiday schedule is:

12/25 - off 01/01 - off

Board Member Steele moved to approve paid holiday days off beginning 12/25/2023-01/01/2024 with Board Member Luke seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Board Member Steele motioned for the board to go into executive session to discuss staff compensation with Board Member Luke seconding. Roll Call was taken:

William Steele - Yes Dean Cook - Yes Barbara Luke – Yes

Board Member Steele moved to come out of executive session with Board Member Luke seconding. Roll Call was taken:

William Steele - Yes Dean Cook - Yes Barbara Luke - Yes

Board Member Steele moved to pay year end compensation for each staff member totaling \$27,950 with Board Member Luke seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider asked to move the December 22, 2024 meeting to 9am with Board Member Luke making the motion and Board Member Steele seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Board Member Luke moved to adjourn the meeting with Board Member Steele seconding.

Next Board Meeting will be held on Tuesday February 6th, 2024 at 1:00pm.

Chairman: Attest: Renee Error, Election Specialist

*Compensation Addendum

Dean E. Cook, Chairman

\$27,950 (total year end compensation)

\$5,000/ea.- Director Brandon Clay

\$5,000/ea.- Deputy Director Michelle Forrider

\$3,500/ea.- Election Specialists Renee Error, Gretchen Kinney, and Vicki Flanders

\$2,500/ea.- Election Specialist Amy Schrolucke

\$550.00/ea.- Part-time Staff

Martha Vincent, Jeannene Henault, Rachael Whitley, John Howard, Kara Morgan

Ruth Kvasnok, Sue Young, Tracy Stover, Michael Error