The Union County Board of Elections met on August 21, 2023. Those in attendance were Chairman Dean Cook: Board Members Gary Lee, William Steele, and Barbara Luke; Director Brandon Clay; Deputy Director Michelle Forrider; Election Specialist Renee Error \*\*\*OFFICIAL\*\*\*

Chairman Cook called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Approve minutes from August 8, 2023, and the August 16, 2023 meetings. Board Member Steele moved to approve the minutes from the August 8 and August 16 with Board Member Lee seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

### August 8, 2023 Election Update

Director Clay updated the Board on the status of the Election and he went over the precincts and there had ballots to be remade.

Board Member Steele moved to approve the minutes with Board Member Lee seconding.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Jerome – 4 Marysville – 9 Liberty – 2 Richwood – 2 Jerome 1 & Jerome 2 – 8

<u>Audit</u>

Director Clay gave the 3 options on how to conduct an audit. Polling locations, Precinct and Voting Machines. Deputy Director Forrider let the board know 979 ballots are needed if doing by precinct.

A motion was made to conduct the audit by Precinct totals.

Board Member Steele a motion to accept the voting by precincts for the audit with Board Member Luke seconding.

The motion passed upanin

The motion passed unanimously.
The following precincts were pulled for the audit.

Marysville 6 – 480 Marysville 16 – 433 Dublin City 2 – 702

<u>Approve Bills</u> Deputy Director Forrider presented bills for approval.

- 1. Verizon
- 2. Presswork
- 3. Outside the Box (moving)
- 4. Visa
- 5. RBM Consulting

Board Member Steele motioned to approve with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

### **Candidate Petitions**

Robert Joseph Wehinger for Magnetic Springs Mayor. Director Clay and Deputy Director Forrider suggested to the board that this petition be invalid as the petitioner's residence is not in Magnetic Springs.

Board Member Steele motioned to decline the petition with Board Member Lee seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Giovani J Faenza – Paris Trustee is not registered but filled out a voter registration that would have been entered in time if there wasn't an August Election.

Board Member Steele motioned to approve with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Write-in Candidate

Steven Wolfe brought in a Declaration of Intent to be a write-in-candidate for Marysville City Council Ward 1.

Board Member Lee motioned to approve with Board Member Steele seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Mark Lippencott - Fairbanks School Board Collin Smithey – Marysville School Board Lisa M. Adkins - Fairbanks School Board Brad DeCamp – North Union School Board Matt Keller - Marysville School Board Virgil R. Reisinger III – Milford Center Mayor Martha K. Cantrell – Magnetic Springs Mayor Aaron J. Carpenter - Marvsville City Council Ward 1 Alan Seymour – Marysville City Council Ward 2 Mark A. Humble – Unionville Center Village Council John E. Marshall – Marysville City Council Ward 2 Chad Wilson - Magnetic Springs Town Council Scott A. Hunter - Marysville City Council Ward 3 Tyler J. Hall – Paris Twp. Trustee Kayla Kibler - Washington Twp. Fiscal Officer Robert J Morey – Taylor Twp. Trustee Carol Miller - Washington Twp. Trustee Robert Caldwell – Jerome Twp. Fiscal Officer Jerry McClary - Liberty Twp. Trustee Tony Eufinger – Paris Twp. Trustee Mary Lu Swartz - Claibourne Twp. Fiscal Officer Kevin L. Dotson – Leesburg Twp. Trustee Logan J. Rife – York Twp. Trustee Aaron Grabovich – Jerome Twp. Trustee Neal Kise – Union Twp. Trustee Scott Brackenridge - Millcreek Twp. Fiscal Officer Steven Patton – Jackson Twp. Trustee C. Scott Weeks – Taylor Twp. Trustee Robin Burns – Union Twp. Trustee Summer A. Phelps – Union Twp. Fiscal Officer

Board Member Luke motioned to approve Candidate Petitions with Board Member Lee seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Questions and Issues

Local Liquor Option for Sunday Sales – VFW Richwood

Board Member Lee motioned to approve with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Outsourcing Absentee Ballots for November Election

Director Clay and Deputy Director suggested to the Board to have Midwest be our outsourcing for mailing for the November Election.

Board Member Steele motioned to approve with Board Member Lee seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

# Campaign Finance

Deputy Director Forrider presented Campaign Finance to the Board

- Donald Boerger for Marysville
- William Neumeyer
- Friends for Steven Wolfe
- Grabovich for Trustee
- Sullivan for Union County Clerk of Courts
- Stauch for County Engineer
- Smarra for Treasurer
- Friends to Elect Keith Conroy
- Committee to Elect Kim Zacharias County Commissioner
- Fairbanks Levy Committee
- Lori Lacella for Allen Twp. Fiscal Officer Committee
- Jermaine Ferguson for Marysville
- For Union County
- Citizens Committee for People with Developmental Disabilities
- North Union Levy Committee
- Scott Hunter for Marysville
- Friends for Tony Eufinger
- Friends for Jamie Patton for Sheriff
- Support your Library Levy Committee

Board Member Luke motioned to approve with Board Member Lee seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

### Protest Hearing

A protest hearing for Marysville Annexation is to be held August 31, 2023 at 9:00 am. Preliminary has been sent out.

## Official Canvass

Board Member Steele motioned to approve the ballots with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Upcoming meetings

- August 31<sup>st</sup> Audit 9:00 am
- October 3, 2023 1:00 pm

Chairman Cook made the motioned to adjourn at 10:03 am with Board Member Lee seconded the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

in Chairman: Attest: 11

Renee Error, Election Specialist

man: \_\_\_\_\_\_

Dean Cook, Chairman